Monday, March 1st

ATTENTION: My new email address is  


12:00am: It's wrestling season. That's it. That's the post.


I mean, I'm sure I'll have more later, as I believe we will get clarification on the post-season sometime today, but for now... that's it.

















2021 New Faces/Changes


Brick Memorial

Junior, Evan Tallmadge (4th Place in NJ at 106 in 2020, and a 2-time State Qualifier) transfers from Brick Twp.

Junior, Lucas Torre (D23 Runner-up and a State Qualifier at 106 in 2020) transfers from Pt Boro.



Junior, Garrett Totten (7th Place in NJ at 113 in 2020, and a 2-time State Qualifier) transfers from Northern Burlington.



Junior, Hunter Mays, a State Qualifier from Pennsylvania, joins the Rebels lineup.


Jackson Liberty

Devin Biscaha (Jackson Memorial - Class of 2010) becomes the 2nd head coach in Liberty history, replacing Mike Eddy, who coached the Lions since their inception. Biscaha was a Region & District Champion at Jackson Memorial, and went on to become a NCAA Division 3 National Champion while wrestling at Springfield College.



Corey Maliff (Brick Memorial - Class of 2010) - Maliff, who had previously been an assistant with the Piners, takes over for Oscar Orellana, who is now serving as the school's athletic director.



Justin Barowski, (Pt Beach - Class of 2005), a former standout wrestler for the Gulls, and previously an assistant coach at Pt Boro, takes over as head coach for the Warriors, replacing Matt Voskian, who guided 'Squan for the past 11 seasons.



Thomas Verdiglione, a 2-time State runner-up in Connecticut with a career record of 104-15, joins the Huskies. 


Ocean Township

Senior, Kevin Cartagena-Walsh (D19 Runner-Up) transfers from Monmouth Regional

Junior, Shane Cartagena-Walsh (13-3) transfers from Monmouth Regional


St John Vianney

Senior, Harrison Gordon (NJ-WB3; D19 & R5 Runner-up in 2020), transfers in from Marlboro.


Info to add?



Shore Conference Returning State Qualifiers in 2021


Brick Memorial

Sr: Vincent Santaniello (NJ-2nd Place; 3-time Medal Winner)
Sr: David Szuba (NJ-2nd Place; 3-time Qualifier)
Jr: Evan Tallmadge (NJ-4th Place; 2-time Qualifier)
Jr: Ryan Smith (NJ-WB2)
Jr: Lucas Toree (NJ-WB1)
So: Anthony Santaniello (NJ-2nd Place)


Sr: Sam Nini (NJ-WB1)
Jr: Garrett Totten (7th Place; 2-time Qualifier)
So: Julian George (NJ-WB4)
So: Tyler Barrett (NJ-WB3)
So: Zander Silva (NJ-WB1)

Colts Neck

Sr: Logan Waller (2-time Qualifier)
Sr: Joe Barsky (NJ-WB1)

Freehold Boro

So: Angelo Messina (NJ-WB3)


Sr: Neiko Malone (2-time Qualifier)
Sr: Paul Jakub (2-time Qualifier)
So: Colin Bradshaw (NJ-WB1)

Jackson Memorial

Jr: Luke Temple (NJ-WB1)


Sr: Vin Ceglie (NJ-WB1 in 2019)
Jr: Brady Carter (NJ-WB2 in 2019)


Sr: Gavin Claro (2-time Qualifier)


Sr: Zach Vasile (NJ-WB2)


Sr: Kamrin O'Neill (NJ-WB3)
Sr: David Rubin (NJ-WB2)

Middletown South

So: Jack Zaleski (5th Place)
So: David Hussey (NJ-WB1)

Ocean Township

Sr: Joe Teresi (NJ-WB2; 2-time Qualifier)
Sr: Demetri Poniros (NJ-WB2; 2-time Qualifier)
Sr: Blake Tarnowski (NJ-WB1)
Jr: Jared Tracey (NJ-WB1)

Pt Beach

Sr: Riley Simon (NJ-WB1)


So: Sabino Portella (NJ-WB4)


Sr: Max Brignola (8th Place; 3-time Qualifier)
Sr: Jack Kelly (5th Place)
Sr: Tyler Brignola (NJ-WB1)
Jr: Shay Addison (5th Place)
Jr: Aidan Shaughnessy (NJ-WB2)

St John Vianney

Sr: Dean Peterson (2-time State Champ; 2nd in 2019)
Sr: Blake Clayton (3rd Place; 2-time Qualifier)
Sr: Harrison Gordon (NJ-WB3)
Jr: Nico Diaz (2-time Qualifier)
So: Joseph Giordano (NJ-WB2)

Shore Regional

Sr: Jack Maida (NJ-6th Place in 2019; 3-time Qualifier)
Sr: Michael McGhee (2-time Qualifier)


Sr: Eddie Hummel (NJ-3rd Place; 2-time Medalist)
Sr: Matt Brielmeier (NJ-WB2)
So: Conor Collins (NJ-WB4)
So: Cole Velardi (NJ-WB2)

TR East

Sr: Michael Conklin (3-time Qualifier)
Jr: Joe McCullough (NJ-WB1)

TR North

Sr: John O'Donnell (NJ-WB3)


Sr: Jacob Whitworth (6th Place; 2-time Qualifier)
Sr: Nick Zamaloff (NJ-WB1)
Sr: Brendan Newbury (NJ-WB1)


2021 Milestone Watch


Without knowing just how many matches wrestlers will be able to get in this year (20-30?), in what looks to be about a 5-week regular season that will likely be safety-oriented, and an abbreviated post-season, here's a look at some of the milestones that may, or may not, be within reach in this modified 2021 season.



Head coach, Ken MacIver, needs 4 more wins to reach 300 career victories as a head coach.


Brick Memorial

Vin Santaniello: The senior needs 34 wins to break the Mustangs' career wins record of 149, held by Steve Santos (Class of 2009).



Rebel head coach, John Gagliano, is 9 dual wins away from reaching 500 career wins.


Long Branch

Head coach, Danny George, is 4 wins away from 450 career dual wins.


Ocean Township

Joe Teresi: Teresi needs 13 wins to become the first Spartan heavyweight to hit 100 career victories, and to become the 7th wrestler in Shore Conference history to record 100 wins in the heavyweight slot.


Pt Beach

Beach head coach, Jeff Bower, is 2 wins away 200 career head coaching wins.


Pt Boro

The Panthers head coach, Pat Brady, needs 9 victories to reach 200 for his career.



Rob Nucci, is 15 wins away from recording his 400th victory as head coach of the Rockets. Nucci also had 18 wins at Pinelands, prior to joining the Rockets, and hit 400 for his overall career last season.



Max Brignola: The senior needs 27 wins to break the school record of 139, held by Nick Addison (Class of 2019).


St. John Vianney

Dean Peterson: The Princeton-bound Peterson needs 16 more wins to break the Lancers' program record of 123, held by Anthony Castro (Class of 2004).


Shore Regional

Jack Maida: Maida needs 37 victories to break the program record of 156, set just last season by Al DeSantis.

Head coach, Dave Porta, needs 14 wins to reach #200 for his career.


TR East

Michael Conklin: Conklin is 31 wins away from breaking the Raiders' all-time record of 145, set by Vinnie DelleFave in 2009.



Like This Site?










2021 Tentative Dates Of Importance


3/1: First Day of Practice

3/16: First Day of Regular Season



Despo's Way Too Early Top 5

1. Brick Memorial

2. Southern

3. CBA

4. Howell

5. Rumson