Shore Conference Wrestling

Shore Conference Wrestling

Overall Record:  6-13  /  Shore Conference:  4-13  /  B-South:  2-5 Wrestler Of The Year

(Sr) Matt Bryant - 175
Record: 26-5
2nd Place Region 7
District 25 Champion
Manalapan Invitational Champion
Team Leader in Wins


WB2: Matt Bryant (175)


2/26: REGION 7
Manchester: (1 Medal Winner)
2nd: Matt Bryant (175)
PQ: Andrew Perez (120)


2/19: DISTRICT 25
Manchester (7th Place / 1 Champ / 2 Medal Winners)
Matt Bryant became the Hawks' 3rd District Champ in 10 years, and was a co-winner of the Outstanding Wrestler Award.
1st: Matt Bryant (175)
3rd: Andrew Perez (120)


Manchester  51  -  JP Stevens  21  (BOX SCORE)
Manchester  49  -  Metuchen  21  (BOX SCORE)


Manchester  36  -  Keansburg  29  (BOX SCORE)
Manchester: Mortellite dec in final bout clinches it for Hawks
Red Bank  48  -  Manchester  22  (BOX SCORE)
Manasquan  56  -  Manchester  15  (BOX SCORE)

Manchester: 3 wins - Hinkson, Mortellite, & Bryant


2/3: B-SOUTH
Jackson Liberty  37  -  Manchester  30  (BOX SCORE)

Liberty: P Labianca (15-5); Abline (12-4); Fayed (11-5)
Manchester: Bryant (15-2); Hinkson (12-5)


2/2: B-SOUTH
Donovan Catholic  51  -  Manchester  20  (BOX SCORE)
Donovan: Lenaghan (16-2); Wehner (7-0); Kountouris (13-4); Gutierrez (12-6)
Manchester: Tabussi wins by pin


1/26: B-SOUTH
Pinelands  34  -  Manchester  33  (BOX SCORE)
M: Bryant, Baxter, & Andrews win by fall


#9 Lacey  57  -  Manchester  18  (BOX SCORE)
Colts Neck  52  -  Manchester  30  (BOX SCORE)
Rumson  57  -  Manchester  22  (BOX SCORE)


1/19: B-SOUTH
#10 Pt Boro  54  -  Manchester  15  (BOX SCORE)
M: Bryant (10-1); Justo Bautista (9-0); Hinkson (8-3)


Manchester  51  -  Neptune  24  (BOX SCORE)
Monmouth  46  -  Manchester  34  (BOX SCORE)
Matawan  39  -  Manchester  38  (BOX SCORE)


1/12: B-SOUTH
Manchester  56  -  Barnegat  24  (BOX SCORE)
M: Baxter, Perez, Hinkson, Mayer, Spicer, Moretllite, & Bryan win by fall


1/11: B-SOUTH
Manchester  63  -  Lakewood  9  (BOX SCORE)
M: Perez, Hinkson, Mitrosky, D'Antonio, Andrews, Mortellite, Bryant, & Justo Bautista win by pin


RBC  56  -  Manchester  16  (
Pt Beach  63  -  Manchester  15  (BOX SCORE)



1st Place
190: Matt Bryant
Hwt: Michael Justo Bautista

3rd Place
113: Andrew Perez



2022 Hawks Wrestling

Head Coach
John Manzo - 3rd Season (Career Record: 14-22)

Where They Open
12/18: Manalapan Tournament


Manchester has a good mix of upper and underclassmen, and it is one of the most experienced lineups they have returned in quite some time. With the experience they have returning, and some promising newcomers, the Hawks should be a team on the rise this season.

Down low, four starters from last season return. Senior William Hinkson is a 4-year starter, and will provide veteran leadership. Andrew Perez, a junior, is the other upperclassmen down low, and is entering his 3rd year in the starting lineup. Sophomore Alex Faccone and Landon Krumich will be looking to build off the experience they gained from cracking the starting lineup last season. Among the newcomers coming in down low, keep an eye on freshmen Matix Baxter and Ryan Goertz. 

Even more experience returns in the middle, with four starters from last year projected in this stretch, as well as some more promising frosh expected to contribute here, and provide some nice depth, giving the the Hawks some lineup flexibility in the middle. Senior LJ Andrews is a 4-year starter, and will be a nice veteran presence here. Juniors Raymond Stinton and Nick Brucato, and sophomore Maxwell Anderson are the other returning starters, and have put in the hard work as they look for breakout seasons. Among the frosh looking to make an impact in the middle are Joseph Goertz, Nicholas Hubiak, and Ian Spicer.

The upperweights could be the strength for the Hawks. Once again, there's a lot of experience returning in this group. Seniors Matt Bryant, who was a Region Qualifier as a sophomore after taking 2nd at Districts, and Kingborn Morris, both put up 7-1 records in last year's short season. This senior duo will provide leadership, while also looking like the could be putting up big seasons. Yet another starter from last year returning for the Hawks, is junior Calvin Spicer. Adding to the experience up top are senior Michael Villante and junior heavyweight Michael Justo, who both previously wrestled at Jackson Liberty. 

From the looks of things, the Hawks look like they have a potential to have a very steady, balanced lineup. The roster has a lot of experience, and the team is putting the work and is focused on achieving the individual and team goals. Manchester has not had a winning season since 2015, but if this team stays healthy, they should likely end the snide. They are also bidding to qualify for the Sectionals for the first time since 2011, and are looking to remain competitive in the division. 


Possible Lineup

Wgt Wrestler2021
106 (So) Alex Faccone4-1
106/113 (Fr) Matix Baxter 
113/120 (Jr) Andrew Perez5-6
120 (Fr) Ryan Goertz 
126 (So) Landon Krumich2-5
132 (Sr) William Hinkson2-4
138 (So) Maxwell Anderson3-7
138 (Fr) Joseph Goertz 
138 (Fr) Nicholas Hubiak 
144 (Jr) Nick Brucato1-6
144 (Jr) Raymond Stinton1-5
150 (Sr) Justin Mayer 
157 (Sr) LJ Andrews2-2
157 (Fr) Ian Spicer 
165 (Jr) Calvin Spicer5-3
165 (Fr) Dante Mortellite 
175 (Sr) Matt Bryant7-1
190 (Sr) Michael Villante 
190 (Sr) Kingborn Morris7-1
215 (Fr) Dylan Sanchez 
Hwt (Jr) Michael Justo1-0



Graduated in 2021
Wgt WrestlerRecordPost-Season
126 TJ Bodei8-3 
152 Trevor Juralewicz6-5 
160 Reece Rizzolo7-4 
195 Christopher Meyers7-2 
220 Justice Wilson3-7R-PQ
Hwt Alejandro Velasco2-3 




Manchester Wrestling

Manchester Twp High School
101 South Colonial Drive
Manchester, NJ 08759



Royal Blue & Gold

Athletic Director
Keith Lister

Head Coach
John Manzo
(3rd Season in 2022)

Nick Vinciguerra
John Holzer

CJ Group 2





1 - District Team Title
Last: D24 in 2010

6 - Divisional Titles
Last: B-South in 2010

3 - State Champions
Last: Jimmy Lawson in 2010

12 - State Medalists
Last: Jesse Meaney in 2012

12 - Region Champions
Last: Jimmy Lawson in 2012

38 - District Champions
Last: Matt Bryant in 2022

Career Wins Leader - 141
Jimmy Lawson

Season Wins Leader - 39
Jimmy Lawson
(2008 & 2010)



100 Win Club
Jimmy Lawson - 141
Kevin Malast - 119
Joe Schmidt - 101